Student of the Month

January Student of the Month: Cassie Calkins

What is your background?: I spent sixteen years growing up in Southwest Florida creating many memories with friends and family. Then, my parents finally found the perfect time to move up to the beautiful Midwest to finish up high school with my twin brother Cameron. Moving 1,500 miles North, finally provided me the chance to get closer with all of my family members in the Midwest and to have many adventures and opportunities for my future.

What brought you to Kirkwood and why?: Graduating high school, I wasn’t sure on what I wanted to major in and I figured since Kirkwood had smaller classes, more advisors and professors could help me along the way-which they did. With Kirkwood being a twenty-five minute drive down the road I knew I could keep my job that I was moving up in and spend more time with family while I saved up money and prepared for my future endeavors.

What is your program of study and what interests you about it?: At Kirkwood, I am in a Two Plus Two Program for Criminology and Law to transfer to The University of Iowa in the Fall of 2020. Which means, I take certain classes that will transfer over for my Bachelors Degree. I am interested in this field because of the numerous opportunities I can gain over the years with internships and interviews. Which, will encourage me to succeed in my future career.

Are you involved in anything else on campus? If so, what and why?: In my second year at Kirkwood, I had the chance to take part in an honors research project. In the project, I worked with two professors and met every week to assist me on my paper and steps on completing my research around the campus. I had the chance to conduct interviews and surveys with more than fifty students around the halls dealing with the topic of social media and crime portrayed in the media. This project was a remarkable experience.

I have also taken part in being in videos set up by The Kirkwood Marketing Team. The latest one being the holiday video. I really enjoyed going out of my comfort zone and getting to learn about other students that I get to go to school with and almost see and talk to every week.

Are you involved in anything off of campus?: Most of the time I spend off campus is working and spending time with family and friends. Since ending freshman year and beginning sophomore year, I worked two jobs, which took up most of my time. Yet, I had the skill of time management which helped me delegate what needed to get done. I worked full-time at a retirement home forty-five hours a week and also twenty-five hours a week at a nearby grocery store for about seven months. Then, I decided to go full-time at the grocery store working forty hours a week and being a full-time student at school completing around sixteen to eighteen credits a semester. To say the least, I fill my time with working and hanging out with family and friends that encourage me and bring so much joy to my life.

What do you do for fun?: I like to keep my days fulfilled and to not be spent on the couch watching The Office every day. I visit family in nearby cities and states with my family throughout the year. I also venture around with friends to beautiful sceneries and we end up gaining lots of memories and experiences. During the summer, I am notorious for rollerblading around the city and playing baseball and basketball with my brothers. As the days go on, I tend to keep up with reading some novels, doing puzzles, writing poems and spending time with loved ones.

Where do you see yourself in five years?: In the next five years, I see myself graduated and with a company that I am proud to be a part of. Hopefully, I will surround myself with people and coworkers who are also encouraging and persistent like I am. As the years go on, I hope to continue to gain more skills and knowledge on things that truly inspire and interest me.