Skip to main content
Kirkwood Foundation

Foundation Honors Allsops with Legacy Award

By October 22, 2008November 9th, 2018No Comments
Kirkwood Foundation

Couple saluted for gifts, support and community philanthropy

Two long-time benefactors of Kirkwood Community College and beyond have earned the highest honor bestowed on friends of the college. The Kirkwood Foundation honored Robert and Elizabeth Allsop with the Samuel J. Kirkwood Legacy Award.

Foundation leaders presented the Allsops with the award at the annual Samuel J. Kirkwood Society dinner Oct. 15.

In remarks made at the ceremony, Vice President of Resource development Kathy Hall cited the “tireless philanthropic examples” the Allsops demonstrate to the college and wider community.

“These two people have a long history of quiet generosity, not just to Kirkwood but such worthy organizations as the United Way, Boy Scouts, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Junior Achievement, the Indian Creek nature Center and many others. They have never sought recognition. In fact, they were initially reluctant to accept this award but agreed when we told them this award could encourage others to do their part. Bob and Beth define altruism to us all, every day,” Hall added.

The Allsops have made several key donations to Kirkwood in the past years. The Allsop Computer Lab, a central student services area in Nielsen Hall on the main campus, was named in their honor. Other gifts have established an Endowed Faculty Chair position and generous gifts to an “area of greatest need” fund for student support.

Robert and Beth Allsop were honored by the local chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals as examples of outstanding philanthropy in eastern Iowa. Bob Allsop was also inducted into the Junior Achievement Business Leaders Hall of Fame. Mr. Allsop is a member of the Kirkwood Foundation Board of Directors, a post he has held for several years.

The Kirkwood Legacy Award is given yearly to a family or individual who exemplifies leadership and involvement in philanthropy. Past winners include the Rohde Family of Cedar Rapids and former Kirkwood President Norm Nielsen.

More information on the work of the Kirkwood Foundation is available on the college Web site: