Skip to main content
Student of the Month

July Student of the Month: Mary Holmes

By July 9, 2021August 13th, 2021No Comments

What is your background?: I didn’t grow up in one area, we moved around a lot growing up, but I was born in Des Moines. I graduated from Walnut Creek High School in West Des Moines, but throughout my high school experience I went to three different high schools. I was raised by my mother, and I have four siblings. I have an older sister and three younger brothers.

What brought you to Kirkwood and why?: I knew about Kirkwood, because during the time we moved around a lot as a kid we had lived in the Cedar Rapids/Marion area for a while. My sister graduated from Kirkwood a few years ago, but I moved to Cedar Rapids specifically to attend Kirkwood.

What is your program of study and what interests you about it?: I am in the Physical Therapist Program. Growing up I worked with physical therapists and physical therapist assistants off and on my entire life. They have helped me so much. Right out of high school I had no idea what I wanted to do. I have always been a relatively active person, and I was a personal trainer for some time out of high school. The thing I loved about personal training were my clients. I loved seeing their progress, and how hopeful and thankful they were for the service I was providing to them. I had done some observations at a local clinic and had thought about all of therapy I had done over the years, and I decided that this was something I could see myself doing and enjoying. I chose this program because I want to help people.

Are you involved in anything off of campus?: Most of the things I do off campus involve homework and working. When I have extra time, I try to make plans with my friends or my boyfriend.

What do you do for fun?: I enjoy working out, watching new movies (and old movies as well), exploring new places and hiking. I enjoy longboarding, and just being outside. I love spending time with my friends, family, and my dog. I love trying new things and new foods, and just staying active in general.

Where do you see yourself in five years?: In five years, I would like to be working as a PTA, but I’m not exactly sure where. Time will help me figure that part out. I will have another dog, and I’ll have a little bit more free time to spend with the people I care about.