Student of the Month

March Student of the Month: Will McAllister

By March 15, 2019 March 29th, 2019 No Comments

What is your background?: I have two older sisters. Both are married, and one has four kids. I lived in Cascade, Iowa my entire life and went to Cascade High School.

What brought you to Kirkwood and why?: I started my college career at the University of Iowa majoring in Civil Engineering, but quickly found that lecture halls of 150-300 students was not my ideal place to learn. Civil Engineering also did not come close enough to the construction world as I had originally thought. After talking to a few high school buddies that attended Kirkwood at the time, and talking with Nick Bloome and Andrea Ewers, I decided that going to Kirkwood and studying Construction Management would be a better plan to continue my college career. The amazing scholarship opportunities and affordable tuition also helped make the transition a lot easier.

What is your program of study and what interests you about it?: I am studying Construction Management. Growing up I worked for a few different residential construction companies and always found watching a structure get built from the ground up was really cool to see. I explored a few different avenues before finding Construction Management, but this has proven to be the best fit.

Are you involved in anything else on campus? If so, what and why?: I’m a Student Ambassador. I like helping potential students discover Kirkwood and answering their questions as to why they should go here. Going through the process of not connecting with my first college helps me connect with the students that may be thinking of starting off at a four-year school. I can show them that it may be a good idea to start here instead.

Are you involved in anything off of campus?: I work part-time at Woodruff Construction in Tiffin and also work a few different odd jobs back home whenever they need help.

What do you do for fun?: I enjoy kayaking the rivers near home, dirt bike riding, riding snowmobiles, visiting friends from different colleges, going to the different restaurants, and exploring the biking and running trails with my girlfriend. I also do woodworking for friends and family. I make things from benches, shelves, cutting boards, and signs.

Where do you see yourself in five years?: I see myself as a project manager at a construction company doing scheduling, estimating, and other project management duties. I also hope to own a house by that point and have myself established in a town somewhere in eastern Iowa.