Student of the Month

November Student of the Month: Carly Miller

By November 1, 2017 October 25th, 2018 No Comments

What is your background?: I am from Nora Springs, a small town in northern Iowa. I grew up on a farm with my sister Kendra and my parents and Criss and Michelle Miller. I graduated from Central Springs High School in Manly, Iowa.

What brought you to Kirkwood and why?: I chose Kirkwood because it is the only college in the Midwest that has a dental technology program. Cedar Rapids is a central location for some of my extended family members and it is just far enough away from home that I can go back home if I need to.

What is your program of study and what interests you about it?: I am enrolled in the dental technology program. I chose this area of study because I am a hands-on learner and enjoy working independently. I can use my creative skills while fabricating new smiles for people. After being in the program for a year and a half, I know that I have chosen the right path for me. I enjoy solving problems that occur in the lab and helping my classmates when they are struggling.

Are you involved in anything else on campus? If so, what and why?: In the fall semester of 2016, I was involved with the Student Leadership Council, but due to my demanding class schedule I found it difficult to attend the meetings/activities. I support our sports teams by going to games when I can.

Are you involved in anything off of campus?: I work as a part-time assistant manager at Maurices. I visit my grandparents often. They live in Vinton so it’s a nice drive.

What do you do for fun?: I enjoy going to concerts in the area and finding new recipes to try. I like to stay organized with my classwork and in my home, so I spend time working ahead in class and keeping my apartment clean.

Where do you see yourself in five years?: I see myself working in a removable dental lab in the Waterloo area. I am moving to Waverly after graduation, and I am lucky enough to have multiple labs in that area to choose from to work in. I would like to be a homeowner and have a couple of dogs.